${{amount}} USD

my cart


Enalie Jewelers specializes in a wide collection of diamonds. We offer various shapes, cuts, colors, clarities and carats. We have over 30 years of experience with diamonds and can help you understand the differences and what to look for in a quality diamond. With decades of industry experience in offering and customizing jewelry with diamonds, it’s no wonder why Orange County customers have put their trust in Mission Viejo's premier jewelry store for diamonds – Enalie Jewelers.

The Four C's of the Diamond Characteristics

Diamond Cut

The cut of a diamond refers to the symmetry and polish of stone. The shape of the stone refers to its appearance. The following are the most common stone shapes you will notice in diamonds:

  • Round

  • Princess

  • Oval

  • Marquise

  • Pear

  • Cushion

  • Emerald

  • Asscher

  • Radiant

  • Heart

  • Triangle

  • Rectangle

Diamond Color

When shopping for a quality diamond, ideally it is best to select a stone with the least amount of color. Once a diamond is graded, it is divided into one of five categories; colorless, near colorless, faint color, very light color and light color. Diamonds come in every color of the spectrum, and the main diamond color is yellow. Typically, when assessing the difference in color between two diamonds, the diamonds would need to be least two color grades different to notice a difference. Looking at a diamond in the face up position, it is nearly difficult to see any color in it, and when looking at the diamond from its side view, you may notice some color. 

Color Grade:

  • Colorless = D, E, F

  • Near Colorless = G, H, I, J

  • Faint Color = K, L, M, N

  • Very Light Color = O, P, Q, R

  • Light Color = S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

  • D & E = Exceptional White

  • F & G = Rare White

  • H = White

  • I & J = Slightly Tinted White

  • K & L = Tinted White

  • M-Z = Tinted Color

Also, diamonds come in colorless white, steel gray, yellow, pink, orange, red, green, purple, blue, brown and black. Diamonds that come in these colorless color types contain structural defects or interstitial impurities that caused the coloration of the stone.

Diamond Clarity

Diamonds are formed within the earth and with intense pressure and heat, diamonds contain small imperfections or inclusions inside the diamond or blemishes on the surface. Clarity pertains to the degree in which these imperfections are found. Diamonds which contain considerable inclusions or blemishes have less elegance because the flaws conflict with the path of light through the diamond. 

Almost all diamonds are graded for clarity using the 11-point diamond clarity scale created by the GIA, which include diamonds not graded by GIA. In grading diamond clarity, the GIA considers many factors; the size, number, reflectivity, color and position of every flaw seen under 10x magnification.

GIA Clarity Scale:

  • FL = Flawless

    Extremely rare. No inclusions or blemishes are noticeable to an expert grader using 10x magnification.

  • IF = Internally Flawless

    No inclusions, only blemishes are visible to an expert grader using 10x magnification.

  • VVS1 VVS2 = Very, Very Slightly Included

    Inclusions are difficult for an expert grader to see under 10x magnification. VVS1 inclusions are commonly noticeable from the pavilion, while VVS2 inclusions are noticeable from the crown.

  • VS1 VS2 = Very Slightly Included

    Inclusions are clearly noticeable under 10x magnification, but can be characterized as minor and are not visible to the naked eye.

  • SI1 SI2 = Slightly Included

    Inclusions are obvious to an expert grader using 10x magnification. SI1 is the lowest grade with flaws often invisible to the naked eye, and SI2 inclusions are commonly visible to the naked eye.

  • I1 I2 I3 = Imperfect

    Inclusions are obvious under 10x magnification and may affect brilliance and transparency.

Diamond Carat Weight

The measurement of how much a gemstone or diamond weighs is called a carat. A metric carat is identified as 200 milligrams, and each carat can be subdivided into 100 points. With this type of measurement, it allows for a very accurate measurement to the hundredth decimal place.

Diamonds range in size from a small diamond being a fraction of a carat to a large diamond measuring in several carats. The larger the diamond, the more the price increases. Significantly larger-sized diamonds with good clarity and color are rare and may be pricey!

Carat Weight:

  • 3.00 Carat = 9.4mm

  • 2.50 Carat = 8.8mm

  • 2.00 Carat = 8.2mm

  • 1.75 Carat = 8.8mm

  • 1.50 Carat = 7.4mm

  • 1.25 Carat = 7.0mm

  • 1.00 Carat = 6.5mm

  • 0.50 Carat = 5.2mm

  • 0.25 Carat = 4.1mm

Enalie Jewelers has 30 plus years of diamond knowledge and experience! Our diamonds are sold loosely or in a jewelry piece and are graded by GIA and EGL. We can customize any jewelry piece with any diamond you choose. Whether you are interested in one of our diamond pieces or would like one customized, we guarantee you will be fully satisfied with your diamond! You can also check out our online shop for ideas and inspiration. Additionally, we appraise, buy and clean diamonds! Once you step foot into our Orange County jewelry store, you will leave happy with the price and quality of diamond you selected!